I Tried Something New

Never in my life would I have thought of taking up this hobby. I never even gave it a thought or considered it to be a possibility that I could ever achieve what I have done so far over the past 3 months! I have taken up pole dancing!

My local gym was putting on a taster day of their activities and me and my gaggle of girlfriends decided to have a go at pole dancing, mainly out of curiosity and to rip into and laugh hysterically at each other. It was so much fun so we signed up.

Feeling nervous for the first proper lesson, I donned my little shorts and took myself and two of my great friends to the pole studio at the gym. We tiptoed tentatively into the studio to be greeted by our teacher, a lady bent over a stereo wearing the skimpiest shorts ever (which were also baby pink with the word “stripper” printed on one of her bum cheeks). I wanted to run a mile. But I made myself stay. BEST. DECISION. EVER!

On came the best girl power anthems and off came our inhibitions (to an extent…). At first, everyone was really really awkward, but once we all got into the swing of things (excuse the pun) we were having the best time ever. We left the session feeling buzzed and eager for the next session.

That was in September and I’ve just reached Level 2 status. We’re slowly making our way up the levels as a group and will hopefully eventually reach the top Level 6 (one day).  I look forward to every lesson and I’ve learnt so much in such a small amount of time. The atmosphere is so energetic and supportive – we all push each other and aren’t afraid to learn new moves every week. My core strength has improved massively – I now have a new found respect for the masters of the pole, it requires such huge amounts of grace, strength and flexibility in which I lack ENORMOUSLY. But it’s such great fun that I don’t really mind.

Image

To be brutally honest, up until about 3 months ago I had pole dancing down as strippers spinning on rose gold poles with their tits and ass out having men throwing money and frothing at the mouth over them. Obviously sometimes it is about that but there is this other side to it that I’ve discovered. My teachers have shown our class that it is a refined art that is creative and beautiful and kick ass.

When I’ve talked to my friends about my new hobby, their reactions have been known to go either way. Most of the time people think it’s awesome. However I have encountered a few who have simply raised their eyebrows and give a “oh…wow… yeah… cool” and sort of trailed off into an awkward silence and then hastily change the subject. But the thing is, I don’t have money being thrown at me!!! YET!! Joking.

I do it for exercise and fun and it’s a great confidence booster and I always leave feeling 10x better than when I’m hauling myself through the dark winter nights to the gym.

Have a go – it’s really fun and no one judges you, even if your hands are so sweaty that you just slip straight off the damn thing.

WATCH THESE VIDEOS:

Miss Pole Dance Japan 2012

Amy Richardson-Impey 

STRENGTH

Image

I’m the happiest / goofiest pole dancer ever!

Leave a Reply

